The 2018 Tour Divide takes place on Friday, June 8th at 8AM. Race the length of Great Divide Mountain Bike Route, from Banff to New Mexico, 2,745 miles of ultra-endurance bikepacking.


Date: June 8, 2018

Time: 8:00 am


Cost: Free

Event Website


Tour Divide Grand Depart

Banff, Alberta Canada

The Tour Divide roughly follows the Great Divide Mountain Bike Route (GDMBR) is the most recognized and important off-pavement cycling route in the United States, if not the world. The route crisscrosses the Continental Divide from north to south starting in Banff, Alberta, Canada and finishing at the US/Mexico border in Antelope Wells, New Mexico.

Time-trial season on the GDMBR begins annually with Grand Départ, occurring on the second Friday in June from both termini of the Route; the main Depart takes place in Bannf, Alberta. The Tour Divide see hundreds of riders each year, with the goal of these Solstice common starts is for athletes to challenge the Route in situ, under similar weather conditions and maximum daylight. If one cannot make a grand départ, there is a season-long ITT-Divide format to contend. Tour Divide requires no entry fee or formal registration. There are no prizes for finishing. Riders who carry SPOT GPS Messengers are tracked via the Live tracker.

Follow the event live here. And for those following along, post race updates in the comments below.

For more on the Great Divide Mountain Bike Route, check out our guide, here. Also, find the Rigs of the 2018 Tour Divide here, and check out a few other articles and resources tagged ‘Tour Divide’.

Timing and Records

It’s a small and select group of athletes.  Here are your Grand Depart winners since the inception of the race in 2008.


Men: Matthew Lee – 19:12:00
Women: Mary Collier – 29:17:37


Men: Matthew Lee – 17:23:45
Women: Jill Homer – 24:07:24


Men: Matthew Lee – 17:16:10
Women: Cricket Butler – 26:09:36


Men: Kurt Refsnider – 15:20:51
Women: Caroline Soong – 22:09:59


Men: Ollie Whalley (R) – 16:02:54
Women: Eszter Horanyi – 19:03:35


Men: Mike Hall – 14:11:55
Women: Sara Dallman – 22:19:05


Men: Jefe Branham – 16:02:39
Alice Drobna (SS) – 22:06:36


Men: Josh Kato – 14:11:37
Bethany Dunne – 19:02:37


Men: Mike Hall – 13:22:51
Jackie Bernardi – 19:21:41


Men: Brian Lucido – 14:22:50
Women: Marketa Peggy Marvanova – 22:18:04

Notable ITT’s

Jay Petervary – 2011 – 17:09:01
Jay Petervary – 2012 – 15:16:04
Billy Rice – 2013 – Yo-Yo (NoBo & SoBo) 44:42:00
Lael Wilcox – 2015  – 15:10:59

Current Records

Men: Mike Hall – 2016 – 13:22:51
Women: Lael Wilcox – 2015 – 15:10:59

(*) Year with a re-route, race records could not be made; (R) Rookie; (SS) Single Speed.

Event image by Matt & Brett, A View From Two Wheels. 

  • Paul

    Hi guys why is there discussion of the 2018 event on the website link? It appears to end at 2014?

  • Not sure, I don’t think they maintain that site…

  • paul

    It appears not… so where do you register your interest and your tracker?

  • Shoot an email to tourdivide AT gmail DOT com for questions!

  • fabianghernandez

    Really waiting for this year, if you ask me tour france vs tour divide, there is no contest, divide all the way

  • Kyle Trebotich

    What can you guys do to ensure this is played at the start tomorrow. “I got such a long way to go to get to the border of Mexico. Ride like the wind.”

  • Jake Kruse


  • Henry R

    Good luck to everyone who has the courage and the will power to ride the divide. God bless, and may you all come home safely.

  • Karl

    Highestpeak sorted – all downhill now……

  • Kevin Swan

    Enjoy all the riders coming through helena, mt stopping in for a big meal at hardees every year!

  • Jeff Abrams

    Sebastian Munoz has not finished yet. I hope he does but has not yet.

Follow Us

and join the conversation.